Calendula Shaving Soap (Part II)

I posted the making of the Calendula Shaving Soap a little while ago here: https://thursamaday.wordpress.com/2013/08/10/calendula-shaving-soap/

CalendulaShavingSoap

The soap has now cured (it takes 6 weeks) and it’s time to take it for a test drive, or rather test shave.
I dropped my finished soap into a small quarter pint mason jar & got a really nice lather going using Mr.’s shaving brush.
I think the brush really helps the lather, but the bubbles maintained themselves very well.
Although, I made this soap with faces in mind, I had to try first. Mr.Jesse was kind enough to model the shaving effect on his goatee.

IMG_6005 IMG_6012 IMG_6011

I tried it out on my legs (no pics). it was super smooth, the Bentonite Clay does make a huge difference. I didn’t nick myself once and my skin felt really nourished & moisturized. Overall, it’s just what I was hoping for. I can’t recommend making your own shaving soap enough. Also, I think this will now be my preferred method of shaving from now on.

3 thoughts on “Calendula Shaving Soap (Part II)

  1. Wow, what an interesting homeade shaving soap. I’ve tried similar creams, but for some reason, I always seem to mess it up. I have a lot of respect for those who can make their own cream and not mess it up. Sometimes, I just get tired of the same ‘ol store-bought stuff. You know? However, six weeks is certainly a long time for a cream to cure. What patience you must have. When I get some extra time, maybe I’ll look into making some of this — what seems to be — amazing shave soap. Cheers!

    -Julian

Leave a Reply

