Seed Saving Envelopes

SeedEnvelopes

Seed saving is a bit of a revelation to me. It’s pretty amazing starting with a tiny envelope of seeds and watching them turn into something you recognize. The plants, of course, yield seeds again and you can end up with more than you started with. It’s a pretty neat trick of nature, but it was leaving me with a bit of a mess. I had tiny bowls everywhere for all of my seeds to dry, and they started taking up too much room (in the top left on the picture below you can see an old pill bottle I use for cilantro seeds; that wasn’t going to work anymore as I have been saving a lot more seeds).

I wanted something cute that could hold s multitude of seeds and be organized. I also didn’t want to spend any money on little manila envelopes. After a few searches for origami envelopes on the internet, I was in business (I tried several patterns). I also wanted something that would let the seeds breathe and dry out (i.e. not mold!).

Origami Seed Envelopes

Origami Seed Envelopes

I settled on this pattern with a few modifications for the small size (made from a half sheet of paper (8 1/2 x 11).

Here’s some instructions: http://www.origami-fun.com/origami-bar-envelope.html

Leave a Reply

