Orange-Cocoa Soap

Orange-CocoaSoap

Christmas is still awhile away. But as a soapstress, I always need to think at least six weeks in advance. So I was thinking of Christmas and the chocolate oranges my mom always put in my stocking.

Chocolate Orange

I’ve been wanting to try some cocoa powder in my soap for some time, so here’s what I did:

Most of my ingredients

Cocoa Powder, Grapeseed Oil, Coconut Oil, Valencia Orange E.O., Vegetable Oil, Cocoa Butter, (not pictured: Pumace Olive Oil infused with Annatto Seeds)

  • Annatto seed infused in the olive oil for an orange colour. I used a fair amount of the annatto / achieto seeds and I infused it over the stove until I got a dark red colour. Dark orange when its just a drop.
    Infusing Olive Oil with Annatto Seed

The Valencia Orange E.O. has an uplifting scent & it’s a natural grease cutter. I mixed some cocoa powder with a bit of the soap and tried my hand at a swirl.

P1020326 Ready to Pour

It smells amazing. It looks a bit more Halloween themed than Christmas Themed to me but I like it.
Either way, it’s going to be a great winter recipe.

I can’t get enough of the scent. The cocoa is so rich like making brownies.  But the fresh citrus orange compliments it so well.

Here is the shot by shot of the Swirl Process:

The First Pour Some Cocoa Sprinkling Pouring Action Layers 3 Layers 4 Layers2 Not so Pretty, Tapped it to Flatten out the top.  Simple Swirl, Only Once Top View of Swirl

One thought on “Orange-Cocoa Soap

Leave a Reply

