Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe

TomatilloGuacamole

  • 1 Avocado
  • 4 Tomatillos (you could roast these first)
  • 1/2 Onion
  • Handful of Cilantro
  • Salt & Pepper (to taste)
  • Juice & Zest of 1/2 Lime
  • 1 Jalapeño (Optional – I used a few slices of pickled jalepeños I already made)

I’ve never really been a fan of Guacamole. I find it usually pretty bland, but I’ve been trying to eat more avocados, as they are good for you. What I love about this recipes is that the tomatillos balance out the avocado.  The avocado is creamy while the tomatillos are crisp, fresh & tangy. It is very hard to describe due to the limitations of blogging…. just give it a try.

The Mister begun harvesting our first tomatillo plants. I was very excited because I wasn’t sure tomatillos would even grow up here (in Victoria, BC) but they had plenty of sun and the seeds I got are from Salt Spring Island: ‘De Milpa’ Purple Tomatillo

I wanted to make the guacamole completely from scratch (I did use tomatillos and an onion from the garden), but we go through cilantro too quickly. This year I planted all the cilantro seeds I had, and since it was never enough for a bunch I let them go to seed. Maybe next year…

Tomatillo Guacamole

I put everything in the food processor except the avocado to make sure the ingredients were consistent. I then added the avocado. Unfortunately, it wasn’t the prettiest on the inside.

Ready to eat

Tomatillo Guacamole – ready to eat

3 thoughts on “Tomatillo Guacamole Recipe

Leave a Reply

